Court supervision is a disposition that results in a non-conviction being entered on the record of the defendant. Supervision is a possible outcome in most traffic and misdemeanor cases but is not available for felony matters. If you are charged with a class A, B, or C criminal misdemeanor then you should discuss the implications of a supervision disposition with an attorney. The information on this page is directed toward traffic charges and is unique to the Brown County Circuit Court. If you are a licensed driver from a state other than Illinois, you are urged to verify the effect that a disposition of supervision will have on your driving record in your home state.
ATTN: COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE HOLDERS – The supervision information discussed on this page does NOT apply to you, whether you were driving a commercial motor vehicle at the time that you were cited or not. If you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) then you will not benefit from receiving court supervision. You are urged to consult with a private attorney to determine the best course of action for your particular situation.
A disposition of Court Supervision means that there will not be a conviction entered on your driving record, called a driver’s abstract in Illinois. This can be beneficial to you as a disposition of supervision is not a conviction of a moving violation that would incur sanctions against your driver’s license. Further, supervision may help keep your auto insurance rates lower depending on your insurance carrier’s protocols. Supervision is a disposition that can only be ordered by the court and any agreement or understanding between you and the Brown County State’s Attorney concerning supervision is subject to the final decision of the court.
A plea of guilty is required when requesting court supervision. When court supervision is given by the court then the offender will have a set period of time during which strict adherence to the law is required. Typical supervision periods in Brown County are for 3 months but can be as long as two years in some cases. A violation of the law, no matter how minor, including a willful failure to pay the fine as ordered, during that supervision term could result in the court revoking supervision and entering judgment upon the previous guilty plea.
If you are 21 years of age or older or are a driver licensed outside of the State of Illinois and are requesting supervision, fill out the Traffic Supervision form and mail it to our office.
If you are under 21 years of age, are an Illinois licensed driver, and are requesting court supervision, read The Graduated Driver’s Program below.
In 2016 the Constitution of the State of Illinois was amended to provide for increased rights for the victims of and witnesses to certain types of violent crimes. Our office is sensitive to the needs of crime victims and provides the following information when it is necessary to ensure that a victim of or a witness to a crime is able to avail themselves of those constitutional rights.
The duties of a Victim/Witness Coordinator are to provide direct services to victims of violent crime. “Direct services” include, but are not limited to, notifying victims/witnesses of their rights and the procedures for implementing their rights, providing case updates and procedural explanations during all stages of the court process, providing court accompaniment and emotional support, providing information regarding available financial assistance and how to apply, and providing referrals to social service organizations that help victims to deal with trauma, loss, and grief. The Victim/Witness Coordinator acts as a liaison between the victims and witnesses and the prosecutor, provides courtroom advocacy, and assists with coordinating witnesses/victims during the trial.
The Graduated Driver's Program
If you are a driver licensed in Illinois and are under the age of 21, then you are licensed under the Illinois Graduated Driver’s Program. The Illinois Secretary of State has information on the Graduated Driver’s Program.
To request supervision under the Graduated Driver’s Program if you are under 18 years of age, you must complete a traffic safety school and submit proof of that completion along with your request. The Brown County Court mainly utilizes the Traffic Safety program through the Quincy Area Safety Council. The fee required for this program is separate from any fines assessed by the court and must be paid in accordance with the terms set forth by the Quincy Area Safety Council. After you have completed the traffic school and printed out proof of that completion, you must fill out the form here and bring it with you to court along with a parent or legal guardian.
If you are older than 18 but younger than 21, you are still subject to the requirements of the Graduated Driver’s License Program but are not required to complete the traffic safety school.